Laughing at me.

What makes a good comedian? I would say humility. This might sound strange but think about it. Some of the most cherished comedians I’ve ever heard consistently target themselves. It not only helps the listener feel better about themselves(in a world where entertainers do the opposite) but it’s also something people can relate to. We can relate because no matter how prideful we are, we at least THINK about our flaws.(even though some may never speak of their flaws)

So why not laugh?

Anyone who reads my posts will definitely see me laughing at me. Sometimes I start off making fun of somebody else in my head and it somehow comes back to me. For example I think and talk about things most “normal” people don’t. (well, I guess I don’t know what people are thinking that’s a whole other topic for another day) I don’t consider this a flaw but it can lead to some sobering thought.

For example people who feel the need to walk around while they brush their teeth. Why do they do it? And why do they feel the need to put their hand on their hip while they brush?

The important question to ask is why does it bother me? Is it because I can’t seem to do it without getting toothpaste all over my face? Thus making me feel inferior?

See? It always comes back to me. A good comedian embraces this!

Brian Regan. He’s my personal favorite. He does this so well. Weather it’s his diet, his childhood, or his ability to “read good”, the joke is almost always on him.

“It’s good to be here. I’m just trying to go through life without looking stupid. It’s not working out too well. ”

When I first heard Brian Regan utter those words I was an awkward middle-schooler who felt and probably looked stupid all the time. People laughed at me. I am proud to say I became one of those people. I became one of the funniest people I know.

So what can we learn? I think that if there was an accurate way to measure happiness the humblest comedians would also be the happiest. So let us eat some humble pie and laugh at ourselves and our situations a little more.

“I’m sorry I don’t laugh at the right times”

5 thoughts on “Laughing at me.

  1. Pingback: Cryptoquote Spoiler 12/06/13 | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

Leave a comment